Signs of the zodiac

The zodiac was divided by the ancients into twelve equal parts, proceeding from west to east, each part of thirty degrees, and distinguished by a sign; these originally corresponded to the zodiacal constellations bearing the same names, but now, through the precession of the equinoxes, they coincide with the constellations bearing the names next in order.

Beginning with "Aries," we have first six on the north side and six on the south side of the equator; beginning with "Capricornus," we have six ascending and then six descending signs--i.e., six which ascend higher and higher towards the north, and six which descend lower and lower towards the south. The six northern signs are: Aries (the ram), Taurus (the bull), Gemini (the twins), spring signs; Cancer (the crab), Leo (the lion), Virgo (the virgin), summer signs. The six southern are: Libra (the balance), Scorpio (the scorpion), Sagittarius (the archer), autumn signs; Capricornus (the goat), Aquarius (the waterbearer), and Pisces (the fishes), winter signs.

No comments: